Third Annual Justitia Moot Court Competition
on January 09, 2018

The Teehankee Center hosted the third installment of the Justitia Moot Court Competition, with a focus on the rule of law and media. The competition was a two-day event held on November 23 and 24, 2017.

This year's theme was "Elections, Cyber-Attacks, Open Data, and Self-Determination," which was inspired by two major trends: first, the struggle of the citizens of Ukraine, Quebec, and Catalonia to determine their own path as a people, and second, the impact of social media on democratic exercises, as clearly seen in the 2016 United States presidential elections and on the United Kingdom's decision to leave the European Union.

The competition's case problem pertains to the fictional land of Racel, a mineral-rich region of a state named Bellona. After years of extractive industries oppressing its minority population, it decided to secede from Bellona in a referendum that was thought to be ineffective because unknown military forces surrounded Bellona on the day of the election. Government media outlets, the military, and intelligence services from the Federation of Anlusan were implicated in the failed referendum for spreading false propaganda and coercing the residents not to vote. Racel, in any event, declares independence and imposes trade sanctions and a firewall against Anlusan. Anlusan comes to the tribunal seeking redress against Racel's violation of an economic integration and open data agreement that its predecessor state, Bellona, had signed, as well as praying that the courts lift the sanctions which have severely degraded the quality of life in Anlusan.

Thirteen teams from ten schools from all over the country participated:

  1. Ateneo de Zamboanga University
  2. Arellano University
  3. Cagayan State University
  4. Jose Maria College (2 teams)
  5. Lyceum of the Philippines - Cavite
  6. Lyceum of the Philippines - Makati
  7. St. Louis University
  8. University of Mindanao (2 teams)
  9. University of San Agustin
  10. University of the Philippines (2 teams)

After an elimination round, a semi-final round, and a championship round, awards were given out to the participating schools.

The Best Overall Memorial and Best Applicant Memorial was awarded to Lyceum of the Philippines - Cavite. University of San Agustin received the distinction of having the Best Respondent Memorial.

Raymond Garcia (UP - Diliman, Team 1) was awarded the Best Oralist Award. Janro Narag (Cagayan State University) and Ben Bulac (LPU - Makati) were awarded 2nd Best and 3rd Best Oralist, respectively.

The first runner-up was University of the Philippines - Diliman Team 1, composed of: Raymond Garcia, Gayin Chan, Chrysologus Herrera, and Kathrine Castro. The third Champion of the Justitia Moot Court was the second team of the University of the Philippines Diliman, composed of: Juan Artiaga, Franz Lantin, Paterno Ordunga, and Kathleen Benavidez.

Moot Court